My New Forum Project

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by FearTheKick, Jan 4, 2013.

1. FearTheKick

FearTheKick Legend of the Badlands

I just started a brand new project, definitely my biggest undertaking to date. It came to me in the shower believe it or not haha, I've been a runner my whole life and just though "Well, I have a lot of Admin experience...and I have been a runner my whole life...and all current running forums are pretty awful...wait a second!". So, if anyone is interested I'm going to ramble and bitch about being a webmaster of an upstart project.

For anyone that knows a thing or two about forum software, you probably know the whole business is at a standstill. Two major companies are in a lawsuit, and many are turning to more facebook-like packages which I don't like. I ended up buying an Invision Power Board license, which I think is the best choice for right now.

We are currently 6 days away from the launch and it's crunch time. I still need to finalize templates, get some quality posts up for the members to stumble onto when they first join, and put the finishing touches on a number of features.

What a headache. Right now I'm trying to rearrange the way the whole "View Thread" template looks, because imo IPB's is just ugly. It's a huge pain in the ass.

2. MorbidMobius

MorbidMobius The Lord of Slag

sounds really cool any specific topic for the new project. for those of us that don't speak nerd could you elaborate a little more as to what it is your doing with this project and what you are expecting as far as results go?

3. FearTheKick

Glad you asked. All current forums for runners are either abandoned by staff, disorganized and difficult to use, or severely outdated. We are aiming to provide a fast, clean, and easy to use community backed by professional staff and premium message board software.

Our primary concern is obviously going to be the message boards, however we will also offer the latest news in the running world.